Posted by: emilyhowardprincipato | October 13, 2009

Response #4 – A new passion – wine.

I thought long and hard about my hobbies and what I enjoy.  My first obvious passion would be college tennis, but I didn’t want to research that.  Since I just finished a marathon, I figured running would be another obvious choice.  I didn’t feel like picking that either.  Then, it hit me like a pile of bricks.  Wine.  A fairly new passion of mine is tasting, learning and drinking wine.  I was eager to research, learn and read more about vino.

My first place of research started with the wine bloggers conference.  It lists the 2010 participants with their blog, website and twitter feed.  This was a great tool to help me find a lot of people who are the experts in the industry. 

One person who is influential is Joseph Roberts at 1winedude.com.  Joseph updates his blog regularly, where he allows and receives a lot of comments, 2,451 followers on Twitter and he is up for the best wine blog in the Foodbuzz.com Blog Awards.  He also has a fairly decent authority on technorati.  I like how natural his language is and how easy it is to read.

I was also extremely impressed with the Vinography blog.  It has an authority of 301 on technoratiAlder Yarrow is the writer behind the Vinography blog and he has won best writing on a wine blog and best overall blog for the second year in a row in the 2009 American Wine Blog Awards.  This particular blog was good at being informational and educational.

The best resource for finding the most influential wine blogs and their rankings is on AlaWine.com.  It lists the 100 Top Wine Blogs and they keep it current.  It was last updated Sept 15, 2009.  The Wine blog ratings are standardized composite logarithmic scores based on multiple relative link popularity rankings from three top search engines and Technorati, as well as Google page rank scores.  They are taking many things into consideration when rating the blogs. 

The top 5 blogs according to AlaWine.com, respectively, are:

1) Fermentation

2) Vinography

3) Dr. Vino

4) The Pour

5) Catavino

After thinking I reached the end of the internet, I continued to find more information on wine bloggers.  I was very surprised with the amount of wine blogs there are and how much information is available.  I was also impressed with the content that I found from the bloggers.

Responses

  1. Hey, thanks for the kind words!

    Cheers!

  2. Brava on your post! I have 350 bottle coming from Italy this winter. It’d be a good idea to do a tasting at the end (or beginning) of a class. Maybe you can put your new found vino skills to the test. I couldn’t really tell you the difference between tannin content vs. acidity. I can tell you if it is red or white and if I like it or not. Also, I never spit out the wine at a tasting…good alcohol going to waste. See you tonight. – Ryan

  3. […] Emily has a great post about the basic juice and how she has started to get into it.  Unlike Emily, though, I am not that good at deciphering the different qualities of wine.  I know if a wine is red or white, bubbly or still, sweet, or cold or hot.  Most important though, to me, I know if it is good or bad.  That, my friends is what it really comes down to, just listen to Gary with Kevin Rose: “If you like it, drink it.“ Dave and I after Piovene buy […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

